Daily 24 Puzzle

In response to the Covid-19 alert we are presenting a daily puzzle

24 is a good game to practice your arithmetic. It is usually played by dealing four playing cards, but car license plates in Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland are ideal for it. So that you don’t have to leave your home, we are providing you with licence plates every day.

The aim is to make 24 using the set of numbers to the right of the plate. You can use addition, subtraction, division and multiplication, but you must use all of the digits.   We will be posting new plates each day randomly generated. You’ll be surprised how many of them can make up 24.

Variations

For younger players:

If you cant make 24 –

  • How close can you get?
  • Can you make 24 if you don’t use all the digits?

For older players, additional rules you might like to use

  1. Use powers and roots Xy y√X  (To raise something to a power the exponent (if needed) must also be present. For example, to square a number a 2 must be available. To take the cube root of a number a 3 must be available)
  2. You may link adjacent numbers to form multi-digit numbers as long as the order is kept. For example: 1221 could become 12*2*1
  3. You can use factorials ie 4! = 4*3*2*1 = 24

There are a few not-so-obvious “tricks” that you can do with moves 1. and 3.

See more at Maths at Home Page

Friday 29 May

Thursday 28 May

Wednesday 27 May

Tuesday 26 May

Monday 25 May

Sunday 24 May

Saturday 23 May

Friday 22 May

Thursday 21 May

Wednesday 20 May

Tuesday 19 May

Monday 18 May

Sunday 17 May

Saturday 16 May

Friday 15 May

Thursday 14 May

Wednesday 13 May

Tuesday 12 May

Monday 11 May

Sunday 10 May

Saturday 9 May

Friday 8 May

Thursday 7 May

Wednesday 6 May

Tuesday 5 May

Monday 4 May

Sunday 3 May

Saturday 2 May

Friday 1 May

Thursday 30 April

Wednesday 29 April

Tuesday 28 April

Monday 27 April

Sunday 26 April

Saturday 25 April

Friday 24 April

Thursday 23 April

Wednesday 22 April

Tuesday 21 April

Monday 20 April

Sunday 19 April

Saturday 18 April

Friday 17 April

Thursday 16 April

Wednesday 15 April

Tuesday 14 April

Monday 13 April

Sunday 12 April

Saturday 11 April

Friday 10 April

Thursday 9 April

Wednesday 8 April

Tuesday 7 April

Monday 6 April

Sunday 5 April

Saturday 4 April

Friday 3 April

Thursday 2 April

Wednesday 1 April

Tuesday 31 March

Monday 30 March

Sunday 29 March

Saturday 28 March

Friday 27 March

Thursday 26 March

Wednesday 25 March

Tuesday 24 March

Monday 23 March